Lazy day at the Buffalo Chip

Day 30: Friday 2nd August 2013 – Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD

Today I’d lost my wheels. The Trooper was in at Easy Eddie’s having some pampering, and waiting on his new front tyre to arrive.

Randy, one of the guys from North Dakota I’d meet last night, had called me in the morning to see if I wanted to go into Sturgis town with them, but I declined, preferring to wait and see if the Trooper would be ready before lunch time. It looks like they had a good time without me. Chris had Jack poured down his throat by a girl on stilts at the Full Throttle Saloon. I wonder what he paid for the privilege.557901_1400534013501123_1213795309_n

I scouted the camp, trying to get my bearings. If I hadn’t been with other people last night after dark, I would have had a lot of trouble finding my way back to my tent. The camp ground seemed real quiet, perhaps the calm before the storm as most people would be arriving over the weekend.

From South Dakota, August 2013
From South Dakota, August 2013
From South Dakota, August 2013
From South Dakota, August 2013

Having got my bearings and now being happy that I could navigate from all the main waypoints back to my tent, I had a couple of beers as there was still no sign of the Trooper’s tyre. When the tyre did come in, it was mid-afternoon and I felt I’d probably had enough beer that it was no longer wiser to take the Trooper out on the public highway.

I was going to be at Sturgis for 8 nights, so one day just chilling out at the Chip was no bad thing. I bought myself another beer and watched some of the early bands play.

From South Dakota, August 2013

Mike and Twitch from the previous evening were out and about.

From South Dakota, August 2013

Later that evening I met up with my Canadian neighbours, Mike and Donna, and another neighbour, Six Pack, in his skelton suit.

From South Dakota, August 2013

We watched Queensryche play but the crowd was small and the band didn’t get such a great reception.

From South Dakota, August 2013

For the second night, I took a ride back to camp on the back of Mike’s quad.

 

Leave a Reply

