Missed the turn

Day 21 Wednesday 24th July 2013 – Grants Pass, OR to Bend, OR

I was relieved to be starting a day without fog, and my hip was feeling a lot better. Today felt as if it was going to be a good day. The plan was to ride from Grants Pass to Eugene, by way of Crater Lake.

The ride up to Crater Lake reminded me of yesterday’s ride along the 199, riding along the canyons of the Rogue River, through long avenues of trees and with wooded mountains on the horizon.

From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013

As I approached Crater Lake, I was climbing into the Cascades, with a mountain peak dominating the horizon for a long stretch of the 230.

From Oregon, July 2013

Crater Lake is in the Cascade range of volcanoes, which include Mount St Helens and Lassen Peak, both of which erupted in the last century. Crater Lake was formed when Mount Mazama erupted nearly 8,000 years ago and formed a deep caldera which filled, over time, with nearly 5 trillion gallons of rain and snowfall. It’s nearly 2,000 feet at its deepest and over 6 miles across. Today, it’s a wondrous blue lake with Wizard Island sitting to the east side of the lake. It is truly beautiful, and my photos don’t do the depth of colour in the lake justice.

From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013
From Oregon, July 2013

You can ride or drive right around the lake and I wasn’t the only biker to be riding that day. The Trooper made some friends.

From Oregon, July 2013

The critters were friendly too.

From Oregon, July 2013

In several of the National Parks I have visited, I have come across these brazen panhandlers. They are so un-timid, much like the grey squirrels in some of the inner city parks back home, who are so used to being given tidbits by passers-by, that they come strolling right up to you expecting a tasty handout. Alas I had nothing for this little fellow.

After Crater Lake, I had intended to take a left onto the 58 to take me to Eugene, but I must have been looking at something more interesting than road signs, because I sailed right past my exit and was heading to Bend. Bend was meant to be the following night’s destination. I just stayed in the road to Bend, it seemed as if it was meant to be, and that put me a day ahead of schedule again.

 

4 thoughts on “Missed the turn

Leave a Reply

