Planned Route – Week 4

Day 22 – Thu 25 Jul – Eugene, OR to Bend, OR
Day 23 – Fri 26 Jul – Bend, OR to Boise, ID
Day 24 – Sat 27 Jul – Boise, ID to Lewiston, ID
Day 25 – Sun 28 Jul – Lewiston, ID to Butte, MT
Day 26 – Mon 29 Jul – Butte, MT to Bondurant, WY – (Alex?)
Day 27 – Tue 30 Jul – Bondurant, WY to Cooke City, MT
Day 28 – Wed 31 Jul – Cooke City, MT to Buffalo, WY
Day 29 – Thu 01 Aug – Buffalo, WY to Sturgis, SD

My plan for the 4th week is to make my way over to Sturgis from the west coast. Last time I was in Oregon I visited Portland and then made my way down the coast to California. This time I’m going to head inland. I’ve heard that Eugene and Bend are pretty cool places, and that Crater Lake is worth seeing. Boise, ID is often mentioned as one of the best places in the US to live, so I’m planning to check that out to. There’s meant to be some pretty good riding round these parts, so my route is a meandering one.

But before I get to Sturgis, there are a few things I need to do. I want to call into Bondurant and say Hi to Alex and her horse-riding dog, and I believe I owe the gang at the Elkhorn a bottle of whisky, but I still won’t be taking part in the Indian Leg Wrestling.

From Wyoming
From Wyoming

After that debt is settled, I’m heading up through Yellowstone National Park. Yellowstone was stunnning last time, and I’m hoping it will be again.

From Yellowstone & Grand Teton
From Yellowstone & Grand Teton

However, my ulterior motive for heading up through Yellowstone is that I get to ride Beartooth Pass again, another great bike road which always scores a top spot in top 10 US motorcycle roads.

From Beartooth Pass
From Beartooth Pass
From Beartooth Pass
From Beartooth Pass

From Beartooth, it’s all the way down to Sturgis, SD, via Cody and Buffalo, WY.

Leave a Reply

