Freebird

With my exit from the Edinburgh project, I found myself a freebird. This was good. Right from the start of the project, I knew that this was going to be my last IT gig for sometime, possibly forever.

Some years back I had an idea for a novel. I was between projects at the time, so I began to write. At first, I made pretty good progress – lots of research, plot outlined, half a dozen chapters in draft, but then the need to earn a living got in the way and I had to take on more project work.

When I work on a project, I tend to really throw myself into it. I don’t have a lot of time for other big activities. The novel was something I wanted to complete, but spending the odd free weekend on it every so often wasn’t working. I’d spend the whole weekend catching up with where I’d got to before, but making very little new progress. That approach to writing wasn’t working for me. The book idea got shelved and has gathered dust ever since, but it was still something I really wanted to finish. I’m in the very fortunate position that I have saved enough money to be able to support myself for a few years without working. Now seemed like to perfect opportunity to realise my dream and complete the book. This is something I really want to do for myself. I have no illusions about being a great writer – if I do manage to sell the finished item and to get it published then that will be a big bonus but it is not the main aim. However, I had another dream to realise first – my big American adventure. Now that I was a freebird, I had some certainty over dates and could begin planning the trip in earnest. And hopefully the trip would give me more ideas and inspirations for the novel, which I would pick up when I returned.

One thought on “Freebird

  1. Pingback: Setback 1: Does America want me? | ridingamericana

Leave a Reply

