All good things come to an end

The Edinburgh project wasn’t easy, but it was immense fun. It gave me a chance to work again with some very talented people and some of my best buddies. And I was lucky enough to make some new buddies. One of them, Tibor, beat me to it and set off on his own big adventure months before me. He is writing his own blog of his travels – T on the Road.

In February 2011, my team delivered a cracking website for our client. I would like to thank again everyone that worked on Scrum 1 with me. You guys did a great job and it was a pleasure to work with some of the best in the industry.

But all good things come to an end. After the website we delivered went live, the project was due to change dramatically. Our client wanted to outsource all the development work to India. They thought that they could do the job just as well getting 6 times as many cheap programmers in India, at 1/10th of the cost. In all my 25 years experience in software development I have never seen this really work – and I fundamentally object to the damage this does to the young indigenous talent. It was time to go. I didn’t want to have any part in the planned disaster, so I declined the offered contract extension and left with my integrity in tact. I was now free to start seriously planning the big adventure.

Interestingly, after attempting to operate the outsourced model for several months, my former client has decided to cut their losses and have shelved the idea – hopefully permanently.

Leave a Reply

